2016 – The Year of Appreciation and Positivity

After writing my first piece, “Australia vs. The Netherlands” in 2015 which was featured on the on Dutch Australian website, it was suggested that I start a blog. At first I laughed it off, but after further thought, I have decided that it will be a great way for me to express myself. By sharing my thoughts, ideas and experiences with others, inevitably I hope to become a better person and a better writer.

2016 will also be the year of appreciation and positivity. Where I will try to focus on all the things I have in my life, rather than the things I do not. No longer will I complain about my job and how hard I work, but I will appreciate the fact that I am lucky to have a job. A job where I am able to do work that I enjoy, and best of all, during school hours, ensuring a work/family balance that makes us all happy.

No longer am I going to complain about the fact that I am unable to see my family and friends in Australia as often as I’d like. I am going to appreciate what I do have here with me every day, and that is an amazing husband who loves me, two happy and healthy children who smile continuously and make me smile just by looking at them, parents in law who would do anything for me to see me happy, and the new friends I have made since moving to the Netherlands almost five years ago (you know who you are).

I have a house from 1903 that is bursting with character and that I am still very much in love with. Every year I am able to travel to new parts of the world I have not yet seen as everything is so accessible from here, always only a short flight or drive away!

I am very fortunate to have what I have and I sometimes need to remind myself of that. Sometimes it’s just so much easier to focus on the negatives isn’t it?  I plan to get up every morning and focus on the things I do have and appreciate the small things in life. What do you appreciate most in life? Be sure to tell those you love just how much you do appreciate them. Life is short, and you must be sure to appreciate what you have, before time forces you to appreciate what you had.

“Trade your expectation for appreciation and the world changes instantly” – Tony Robbins.

Kristen.

4 thoughts on “2016 – The Year of Appreciation and Positivity

  1. So true, Happy 2016!!
    Good knowing you….resolution…to get to know you more 😉

    In order to carry a positive action we must develop here a positive vision.
    Dalai Lama

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

