Ignorance

Yesterdays tragic events in Brussels hit us all hard. More innocent lives were sadly lost and it angers me, frustrates me and frightens me. What is the world coming to and when will it all stop? Or will we, as humans, inevitably be at war against each other until the end of time? Last night I could not bring myself to watch the news. It is all too upsetting and too close to home. All of the turmoil in Syria and other parts of the world is indeed happening — right at this very moment more family homes are being bombed and more children are starving to death — yet we all continue on with our lives as though it is not. Does ignoring it all make us ignorant?

I found that when we lived in Australia, this was even more so the case. Being so isolated from the rest of the world you don’t truly realise, or sincerely care, about what is happening on the other side of the world, as it does not involve you. All those troubles are so far away. In addition, international news is also not given the time that it deserves each night on the evening news. Now, however, the troubles are on our doorstep (with Brussels just 140kms away).

According to Wikipedia, “Ignorance is a state of being uninformed (lack of knowledge). The word ignorant is an adjective describing a person in the state of being unaware and is often used to describe individuals who deliberately ignore or disregard important information or facts.”

Kasey Chambers is an Australian singer and songwriter. My daughter and I are huge fans and listen to her albums regularly. On her second album, Barricades & Brickwalls, there is a hidden secret song at the end of the last track titled, Ignorance.  As I listened to this song on my way to work this morning, it touched me. Tears welled up in my eyes as I thought about the direction in which our world is headed and how we all have different methods of coping with it. Please take the time to listen to this song and read the lyrics. Rather than fight each other, why can’t we all just live together in peace and harmony? Realistically, there is not much I can do to change the situation, but I can stay aware. No matter how difficult it may be, I will watch/read the news and stay up to date with what is happening in this world that we all call home. I will no longer be ignorant.

Ignorance – Kasey Chambers

Don’t wanna read the paper
I don’t like bad news
Last night a man got shot
Outside the house of blues
I’d like to ignore it
I’d like to just pretend
That the reason for it
Is something I can comprehend

I don’t listen to the radio
Last time it made me cry
Two boys went crazy
Fifteen kids died
And I don’t know their families
I don’t ask ’em how they’re going
They’re on the other side of the world
But it’s way too close to home

I’ve got something to say
And I thought it might be worth a mention
If you’re not pissed off at the world
Then you’re just not paying attention
And you can turn off the TV
And go about your day
But just ‘cos you don’t see it
It don’t mean its gone away hey

We don’t talk to our neighbours
They’ve got funny coloured skin
We see ’em out on the sidewalk
But we don’t invite ’em in
We only eat when we’re hungry
And we throw the rest away
While babies in Cambodia
Are starving everyday

We risk our lives
We hit our wives
We act like everything is funny
We hide our pain
While we go insane
We sell our souls for money
We curse our mums
We build our bombs
We make our children cry
We watch the band
While Vietnam
Just watch their children die

3 thoughts on “Ignorance

Leave a Reply

