Date Night

My husband and I have been together for sixteen years. In the beginning I spent quite a lot of my time each day, making sure that I looked good for him. I had a daily ritual which involved shaving, moisturising, working out, applying makeup to perfection etc. However, many times since we were married nine years ago, he has seen me looking far from perfect. Actually, he has seen me looking like I was just attacked by bear. In a bush. Then dragged through it backwards. He has also seen me give birth. Twice. Need I say more?  Generally, I choose not to burp in front of my husband. However if I do, I am not crippled with shame. It has been a long, long time since I was worried about my husband seeing me look (or sound) bad. But I still like to make an effort to look nice for him too.

Since we had kids, life began to revolve around the children. As it should. But romance did tend to die out a little. We soon realised that it was just as important to keep our relationship with each other tip-top, as it was bringing up our children in a successful manner. Thus, date night came about. Nowadays, once a month we hire a babysitter, reserve a table at a local restaurant and go on a date night. The anticipation of our night out together, child-free is wonderful. I like to put on a nice dress and do my makeup, then we head out into town, hand in hand. It is so lovely to sit in a nice non-child friendly restaurant and have a non-interrupted conversation with each other. Granted, the topic of our conversation usually falls back to the children. But, we talk about them with smiles on our faces and reflect on how fast they are growing up. We drink a few wines, get a little giggly and by the end of the night we usually end up making out like teenagers, re-finding that spark that attracted us to each other sixteen years ago.

10391749_194416317541_6019824_n

My husband will probably kill me for sharing this photo LOL, but it’s for a good cause :). Everyone has heard about date nights before, but yet, if you’re like most couples, you’ll read it, you’ll note it, and then you’ll ignore it. We have busy lives and so we forget to make the effort or we are simply too tired and the temptation to lounge on the couch and watch Netflix is too much. Don’t get me wrong, I love these nights in too, but I highly recommend that couples make date night a regular occurrence. A family night out to the movies or eating out at one of Beren restaurants with your kids doesn’t count (although also great!). Book that babysitter. Mark it on your calendar. Maybe even buy a new dress and just enjoy the anticipation of it. Date night is not a luxury, it’s an essential.

So when will your next date night be?

Kristen.

 

Leave a Reply

